top of page

Sagada: Hanging Coffins



When someone passes away, traditionally, the remains are either buried six feet under in a graveyard or cremated and put in an urn. But in Sagada, I found an unusual burial custom by the Igorots.


Seeing wooden coffins hanging by the cliff gave me goosebumps, but I tried to hide my expression as a respect to the locals. There I learned more about their custom. They bury it this way because it brings the soul of the deceased closer to heaven. This tradition is believed to have began 2,000 years ago. The elders of the tribe carved their own coffins. And when they die, they are placed inside the coffin in a fetal position because they believe that if someone dies, they should leave the earth the way they were born. Afterwards, the coffin is carried towards the side of the cliff and tied there by ropes. It was an eerie yet fascinating sight. I was grateful for this experience as I was able to immerse with the local culture and learn about the ancient traditions of the Ifugao tribe.


More than a beautiful place, Sagada is a mystery waiting for discovery.

Commentaires


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page